Student Council Election 2022/23

Last month was a very exciting time for Cullybackey College as our Student Council elections took place. 

Students were first introduced to the work of the Student Council by their form teachers which gave them an opportunity to find out more about the work of the Student Council. This allowed students to decide if they wanted to stand for election to the Council.

Following this form teachers collected the names of those who wanted to run for election, and on Thursday 29th September the polls opened at 9am and the votes started coming in. 

Students were able to vote electronically by logging into their year group poll via Google Classroom and casting their vote for the student of their choice. The two students with the most votes in each year group were then deemed elected to the Student Council. 

By the time polls closed on Friday at 3.25pm over 400 students had voted! 

Below is the list of students who were elected to represent their year group on the Student Council:

Year 8

Thomas Hanna

Reece Reid

Year 9

Krystal Steele

Ashton Boyd

Year 10

Jake Clarke

Ella Nicholl

Year 11

Sam Wylie

Daria Drascula

Year 12

Scott Irwin

Harry McKendry

Well done to all those who put their names forward and to those who were elected. 

The 2022/23 Cullybackey College Student Council met for the first time last week to discuss the exciting new projects that students want us to work on.