Religious Studies is a subject studied by all pupils in Cullybackey College until year 12 and pupils have the opportunity to further their studies at A-Level.

Religious Education provides young people with the opportunities to learn about, discuss, evaluate and learn from religious beliefs, practices and values. Through Religious Education young people are able to develop a positive sense of themselves and their beliefs, along with a respect for the beliefs and values of others.


Religious Education

Levels taught:



Post 16

(Permanent staff only)

Mrs P Roulston (HOD)
Mrs L McFarlane

(Subject/Topic Content)

The curriculum for Religious Education is defined by the Department of Education and the four main Christian Churches in Northern Ireland in the Core Syllabus. It also has a role to play within the context of the revised curriculum through presenting young people with chances to develop their personal understanding and enhance their spiritual and ethical awareness.

Year 8

  • I am Unique
  • The Bible
  • Abraham
  • Moses
  • Substance Abuse


Year 9

  • Life in the Time of Jesus
  • Judaism
  • Jesus’ Relationship with others
  • Jesus’ Miracles
  • Jesus’ Teachings
  • Jesus’ Death and Resurrection


Year 10

  • Pentecost and the Holy Spirit
  • The Early Church
  • Islam
  • Who am I and what I do

KS4 – GCSE and Entry Level:


Year 11

Unit 6: An Introduction to Christian Ethics

This unit introduces students to ethics in the study of religion. Students explore personal and family issues, matters of life and death, developments in bioethics, contemporary issues in Christianity and modern warfare.


Year 12

Unit 5: Christianity through a Study of the Gospel of Mark

This unit introduces students to five themes in the life and ministry of Jesus, as portrayed in Mark’s Gospel. Students enhance their knowledge and understanding of, and ability to evaluate, key passages. They should consider these passages both within the religious, political, social and cultural context of Jesus’ time, and in terms of how they influence contemporary Christian lifestyle in all its diversity.


To achieve a CCEA Entry Level in Religious Education at Entry 1, Entry 2 or Entry 3, learners must complete six different units from this specification.


Year 11

Unit 4: Religious Festivals

Unit 1: The Parables of Jesus

Unit 2: The Easter Story


Year 12

Unit 3: Places of Worship

Unit 8: Addiction

Unit 10: Issues of Life and Death

Post 16:


Year 13

Textual Studies

AS 1: An Introduction to the Gospel of Luke

Systematic Study of One Religion

AS 4: The Origins and Development of the Early Christian Church to AD 325


Year 14

Textual Studies

A2 1: Themes in the Synoptic Gospels

Systematic Study of One Religion

A2 4: Themes in the Early Church and the Church Today

Post 16:
Additional Links