BTEC Health and Social Care is a two-year extended certificate course. Choosing to study for a BTEC Level 3 in Health and Social Care qualification is a great decision to make for many reasons. It is an area to work in which gives many varied opportunities for you to make a difference to people’s lives in a positive way. At the same time, you are gaining skills that you can transfer to other professions later.


Health and Social Care

Levels taught:



Post 16

(Permanent staff only)

Mrs S. Cummings (HOD)
Mrs H. Evans

Post 16:

The qualification is structured into mandatory units (ones you must do) and optional units (which the school will decide).

These are:

Year 13

Unit 1: Human Lifespan and Development (External Examination)

Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Assignment)


Year 14

Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care (External Examination)

Unit 12: Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (Assignment)

Students on this course will be awarded credits for each unit of work studied and the success criteria ranges from a pass, merit or distinction all of which are equivalent to passes at A level.

Distinction = A
Merit = C
Pass = E